What’s on in York: Discover TV and Movies Online

Jul _25Movie

Acomb Explore Library

Wed 25 Jul

1.00pm – 2.00pm

Free

Netflix, Amazon Prime, Now TV, DisneyLife…there are so many ways to watch TV and Movies online and we’ll show you how.

In this hour-long session, we’ll demonstrate the best ways to watch movies and TV series on your PC and mobile devices. We’ll compare subscription prices and discover what you’ll actually get within your membership.

For more information please call Acomb Explore Library on (01904) 552651 or acomb@exploreyork.org.uk.

What’s on in York: State of Crisis – a book launch with author Richard Drysdale

July _19 State Of Crisis Richard Drysdale

York Explore Library

Thu 19 Jul

6.30pm – 7.30pm

Free

Who would attempt to subvert an independent nation? How would they go about it?

Join author Richard Drysdale for a talk on his latest political thriller State of Crisis, the sequel to State of Emergency, set in near future Scotland. There will be chance to ask questions about the new novel and the author’s writing experience afterwards.

This is a free event. There is no need to book.

For further information please call us on 01904 552828 or email york@exploreyork.org.uk or pop in and speak with a member of staff.

What’s on in York: Laura Lippman and Alafair Burke – For one night only

Laura _alafair

York Explore Library :

Wed 18 Jul :

6.30pm – 7.45pm :

£7.50

Good friends Laura Lippman and Alafair Burke are coming over from the States and will be stopping off in York for one night only. They will be discussing writing psychological thrillers American style

Laura Lippman has been awarded every major prize in crime fiction. Her latest book is Sunburn. A woman walks out on her family and appears in a new town with a new job and a new friend who knows more about her than any new friend should. How many times has she done this before and who are the shadowy figures so interested in her whereabouts?

Alafair Burke is the New York Times best-selling author of 11 novels, including her latest, The Wife. A woman marries a brilliant economics professor, seizing the chance to leave her tragic past behind. Six years later everything begins to unravel when an accusation against her husband forces her to decide whether she can afford to support him and risk her past being revealed.

To book tickets click here.

What’s on in York: Discover Mobile Internet @ Acomb Library

Jul _18Mobile

Acomb Explore Library :

Wed 18 Jul :

1.00pm – 2.00pm :

Free

In this hour-long session, we’ll demonstrate the best ways to manage your mobile data, connect to public WiFi and avoid all the pitfalls of using data-draining apps on the go!

For more information please call Acomb Explore Library on (01904) 552651 or acomb@exploreyork.org.uk.

What’s on in York: A Poetry Reading and Writing Workshop with writer Maria Stephenson

May _22 Maria Stephenson Poetry

York Explore Library

Sun 15 Jul

1.15pm – 3.15pm

£5

Join author, poet and creative writing teacher Maria Stephenson for a poetry workshop where you can explore the benefits of cathartic writing.  Our poetry is often written for ourselves and will never see the light of day but sometimes, we realise that as well as helping ourselves, our words can move and inspire others.  This is the essence of Maria’s collection ‘Poetry for the Newly Single 40 Something’ (Stairwell Books) which chronicles the escape from an abusive marriage towards living again, also shining a light onto on-line dating experiences.  She will read from her collection and talk about the path to publication during the creative writing workshop included in the event. (more…)

What’s on in York: Summer Reading Challenge Launch

Jul _14SRC

York Explore Library

Sat 14 Jul

10.30am – 4.30pm

Free

Start: Sign Up 10.30                                  Finish: Sign Up 4.30

Drop in Activities 12.00                              Drop in Activities 4.00

Mask Making bookable 1.00 & 2.30          Mask Making bookable 2.00 & 3.30

Everyone welcome!

Sign up for the Summer Reading challenge. Book onto one of our 2 sessions Mask Making Mischief with Kathryn Richardson. Why not drop in and take part in a Map Attack and build York out of Lego and visit our Mischief Maker Space and try out Bloxels, stop-motion animation apps, Minecraft and more.

If you can’t get to this event you can still sign up for the Challenge at any Explore York Library between 14th July and 15th September.

Book in person at any library or call (01904) 552828

What’s on in York: Beyond the Academy – Recognising Women’s History in York

Jul _7Vote

York Explore Library 

Sat 7 Jul 

1.00pm – 3.30pm 

Free

Join us as Explore supports Beyond the Vote!

Students reading English Literature and History at York St John University have been researching women’s history at York Explore Archives over the spring semester. This exhibition and talk will uncover some of the documents and figures that they have encountered. The archives of the City of York, now housed in York Explore Library, holds an incredible collection of original documents revealing the lives, work, and contributions of women in York over the course of its history. Come along to learn more about women’s lives in York, from medieval to modern times. The exhibition will be hosted by Dr Kaley Kramer (Sheffield Hallam University) and Laura Yeoman, Access Archivist at York Explore.

To book tickets please click here.

Opposition mounting to Front Street building plans

Pensioners petition against proposal to develop Bowling Green

Acomb Bowling Club

The Council has told the proposed developers of the Acomb Bowling Club green on Front Street that they need more time to come to a view on their proposals. They say that there are access and other problems associated with the proposal to build 11 houses on the site.

comment on planning application

The news came after it emerged that a petition, signed by pensioners in an adjacent block of flats, and objecting to the loss of green space had been lodged with the Council. The pensioners were also concerned about potential noise nuisance from the site.

Sport England have also sounded a warning about the plan highlighting the continued erosion of sports pitches in the Acomb area.

Concerns have also been raised about the impact on the local bat population and other wildlife in the area.

The Council’s own heritage officer has pointed to the historical significance of the site. It is thought that there may be important archaeological deposits in the area.

Comment on Planning application

Although the balance of comments is against the development in its present form, perhaps surprisingly local amenity societies, Ward Councillors and adjacent property owners have so far failed to make their views known.

The proposals – which could jeopardise plans to bring derelict land to the rear of the Library back into use, while providing much needed accommodation for older people – are a particularly poor piece of incremental planning.

Hopefully a more coherent plan for this part of Front Street will emerge now.

What’s on in York: Finding the Words with poet duo Headlines and special guest Carole Bromley

JUN Findingthe Words

York Explore Library :

Thu 28 Jun :

6.45pm – 7.45pm :

£3 or £2 with a York Card

Headlines Two prizewinning poets, Peter Wallis and Sally Festing, present poems about the head, both in its physical and mental aspects. With special guest Carole Bromley

How does repeated brain surgery impact on families? What if the patient has an identical twin? The answers come, in Andrew McMillan’s words, in poems that see “life as something tentative as well as tender”. Similarly, how can the effects of something like schizophrenia, bear on future generations? Family history and a cache of intimate letters suggest answers.

Sally Festing’s fifth collection will be published in 2019. Four prizes fed into Swimming Lessons, Salaams (Happenstance), Font, and Doors Opening (Oversteps) which followed journalism, radio plays, academic studies, biographies and other non-fiction books. Sally runs Saltmarsh Poetry.

Peter Wallis won publication of a pamphlet, Articles of Twinship, in the Bare Fiction Debut Poetry Collection Competition 2015, was shortlisted in the 2016 National Poetry Competition and longlisted in that of 2017. He is Submissions Editor for the U.K. charity “Poems in the Waiting Room”.

Carole Bromley is the Poetry Society’s York Stanza rep and runs poetry surgeries at York Explore. She has three books with Smith/Doorstop, A Guided Tour of the Ice House, The Stonegate Devil and a children’s collection, Blast Off. Carole is currently working on a sequence of poems about her recent experience of brain surgery and will be sharing some of those poems.

To book ticket please click here.

What’s on in York: Martyn Waites- The Old Religion

Jun _10Martin Waite

York Explore Library :

Wed 20 Jun :

6.30pm – 7.30pm :

£5

Join Martyn Waites as he launches his new thriller the Old Religion.

The Cornish village of St Petroc is the sort of place where people come to hide. Tom Killgannon is one such person. An ex-undercover cop, Tom is in the Witness Protection Programme hiding from some very violent people, and St Petroc’s offers him a chance to live a safe and quiet life. Until he meets Lila.

A dark, twisted, fast-paced page-turner, The Old Religion is a contemporary British rural crime thriller that combines deft plotting and evocative landscapes with richness of character.

‘Waites is one of the very best crime writers we have, simple as that. I’ve been looking forward to this book for a long time and, boy, it was worth waiting for. I don’t know if I devoured IT or IT devoured ME…’ – Mark Billingham

‘One of the brightest stars in the British crime writing firmament’ – John Connolly

For fans of Peter May and Ann Cleeves comes a new thriller featuring ex-undercover police officer Tom Killgannon. Welcome to the dark heart of Cornwall . . .

He was running from his past.

She was running from her future.

Sometimes helping a stranger is the last thing you should do . . .

Martyn Waites was born in Newcastle Upon Tyne. He trained at the Birmingham School of Speech and Drama and worked as an actor for many years before becoming a writer. His novels include the critically acclaimed Joe Donovan series, set in the north-east of England, and The White Room which was a Guardian book of the year. In 2013 he was chosen to write Angel of Death, the official sequel to Susan Hill’s Woman in Black and in 2014 won the Grand Prix du Roman Noir for Born Under Punches. Martyn wrote the bestselling ‘Brennan and Esposito’ series under the pseudonym Tania Carver. To date, the series has sold over 190,000 copies. The first book in the series, The Surrogate, was nominated for the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year Award.

To book tickets please click here.