Children’s magazine Shine re-launches online

The much loved children’s magazine Shine, has re-launched to ensure locals to York are kept up to date with the latest clubs, events and sports happening across the city of York.

After some time away the magazine has now re-launched online and serves as a one-stop website for all you need to know about local activities for children and young people .Aimed at those aged between 5 and 18 years old, this resource has launched just in time to prepare your diaries for the 6 week holidays.

Browse the online calendars for Sports, Play, Parks, Arts and Library activities and events across the York area. You can also read the Shine Blog to find out a little bit more about courses, holiday camps and clubs to get involved in.

Organisers and leaders of children’s groups can register as a Shine user and have activities listed in the magazine’s calendar. The full magazine can be downloaded online.

Some of the exciting highlights happening this summer include:

West Bank Park Summer Fair 2018:

Free entry and on-site parking available at this year’s Summer Fair at West Bank Park from 1-4pm on June 24th.

‘Play In A Week’ – York Theatre Royal:

Join a fast-paced rehearsal week at York Theatre Royal. This year ages 8-14 years old can partake in the performance of the Jungle Book. Places cost £95 and are open to ages 8-14 years old. The course runs from August 13th to August 17th. For those aged 5-8years old, The Dream Play rehearsal week is taking place August 20th to August 24th.

‘Squash Camps 2018’ – Queen Margaret’s School:

Take part in a 3 day course to learn and develop you squash skills. The course runs between 9am-12pm a day for 3 days. Courses cost £45 per person. Course dates are July 17th-19th and July 31st– August 2nd.

Visit www.yor-ok.org.uk/shine for more details. And you can find the Shine blog at www.shineyork.wordpress.com 

COUNCIL TO CONSIDER WITHDRAWING LAND FOR SALE AROUND CLIFFORD’S TOWER

We reported with incredulity in October 2016 that the plans were set to get the go ahead

Final nail in coffin of ugly visitor centre – controversial land sale set to be reversed

The land is part of Clifford’s Tower car-park and was originally part of a package to support English Heritage plans to build a £5.2m visitor centre at the foot of the tower.  English Heritage announced their intention to stop development plans after the council revealed plans for Castle Gateway”.

Cllr Ian Gillies and Cllr Andrew Waller, Leader and Deputy Leader of City of York Council jointly confirmed:

“English Heritage have made clear they no longer plan to build a visitor centre at the foot of Clifford’s Tower.  After English Heritage announced their intention to no longer proceed, residents told us they were concerned construction could still go ahead as planning was still in force.  As a result we have decided to review the offer of leasehold of the land making it clear that the original visitor centre plans will not go ahead.    We remain committed to working in partnership with English Heritage about this important site and it is hoped that the Executive will decide not  to proceed with the land sale.”

Beauty in the eye of the bank manager

The debt laden and controversial “Spark” container village has now applied for permission not to implement the site screening which was a condition of approval in 2017.

Planning permission screening 2017

At that time, several objectors had described the old shipping containers as an eyesore. Most saw the plan as inappropriate for a sensitive City centre location and the expectation was that the site would be better developed on a permanent basis.

The site is owned by the York Council introducing a potential conflict of interest when consideration of the planning applications.

There was a strong view expressed that, if temporary planning permission was granted, then the buildings and scaffolding should be painted in a neutral colour.  This would minimise the impact that the development would have on the neighbourhood.

Spark April 2018

In the event, the developers surprised everyone by offering to clad the structure in wood panelling.

The Planning Committee can only judge and determine the plans that are placed before them. The cladding did mitigate some of the concerns about visual impact. The committee (wrongly in our view) then granted a temporary planning permission for 3 years.

It would be over a year before the permission was implemented with the developers ignoring several of the conditions including the needs of disabled users.

The containers haven’t been painted in a neutral colour.

Spark letter – can’t afford screening 2018

A quasi graffiti mortgage has been added to the Piccadilly frontage.

The York Council has been slow to take enforcement action on the planning contraventions. Not surprisingly other developers are crying “foul”. They say that special treatment arises out of the Council ownership conflict (over £50,000 of taxpayer’s money is currently at risk on the project). The remedy for that lies in enforcing the lease conditions for the land.

In the meantime, the media, social and otherwise, will once again no doubt be mobilised to support the change to the planning permission.

Hopefully the planning committee will develop a backbone and ensure that there is a level playing field for all who wish to trade in the City,

15,000 tonnes of green waste collected by York Council last year

A new York Council report reveals that 12,649 tonnes of green (garden) waste was collected from households in the city last year. In addition 2,214 household waste sites generated a further 2.214 tonnes.

The cost of collecting the green waste was £515,000 while disposal cost £267,000.

The green waste is composted and made available free of charge for gardeners.

The Council says that if the green waste went to landfill it would cost taxpayers around £1.5 million. It would not be viable to burn the waste at the Allerton Park incinerator.

The amount of green waste collected for each York household is similar to that produced in the county as a whole. In York charges are only levied for additional bins.

What’s on in York: Martyn Waites- The Old Religion

Jun _10Martin Waite

York Explore Library :

Wed 20 Jun :

6.30pm – 7.30pm :

£5

Join Martyn Waites as he launches his new thriller the Old Religion.

The Cornish village of St Petroc is the sort of place where people come to hide. Tom Killgannon is one such person. An ex-undercover cop, Tom is in the Witness Protection Programme hiding from some very violent people, and St Petroc’s offers him a chance to live a safe and quiet life. Until he meets Lila.

A dark, twisted, fast-paced page-turner, The Old Religion is a contemporary British rural crime thriller that combines deft plotting and evocative landscapes with richness of character.

‘Waites is one of the very best crime writers we have, simple as that. I’ve been looking forward to this book for a long time and, boy, it was worth waiting for. I don’t know if I devoured IT or IT devoured ME…’ – Mark Billingham

‘One of the brightest stars in the British crime writing firmament’ – John Connolly

For fans of Peter May and Ann Cleeves comes a new thriller featuring ex-undercover police officer Tom Killgannon. Welcome to the dark heart of Cornwall . . .

He was running from his past.

She was running from her future.

Sometimes helping a stranger is the last thing you should do . . .

Martyn Waites was born in Newcastle Upon Tyne. He trained at the Birmingham School of Speech and Drama and worked as an actor for many years before becoming a writer. His novels include the critically acclaimed Joe Donovan series, set in the north-east of England, and The White Room which was a Guardian book of the year. In 2013 he was chosen to write Angel of Death, the official sequel to Susan Hill’s Woman in Black and in 2014 won the Grand Prix du Roman Noir for Born Under Punches. Martyn wrote the bestselling ‘Brennan and Esposito’ series under the pseudonym Tania Carver. To date, the series has sold over 190,000 copies. The first book in the series, The Surrogate, was nominated for the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year Award.

To book tickets please click here.

Latest planning applications for the Westfield Ward

Below is the latest planning applications received by the York Council for the Westfield ward.

Full details can be found by clicking the application reference

—-

173 Askham Lane York YO24 3JA

Crown reduce 2no. Horse Chestnut trees protected by Tree Preservation Order TPO60

Ref. No: 18/01231/TPO 

—–

54 Dijon Avenue York YO24 3DD

Single storey front and side extension.

Ref. No: 18/01108/FUL 

—–

59 Askham Lane York YO24 3HB

Single storey side and rear extension.

Ref. No: 18/01109/FUL 

——

Annexe 18 Askham Lane York YO24 3HA

Variation of condition 2 (approved plans) of application 11/00132/FUL to alter external appearance (retrospective)

Ref. No: 18/01086/FUL 

——

Representations can be made in favour of, or in objection to, any application via the Planning on line web site.  http://planningaccess.york.gov.uk/online-applications/

NB. The Council now no longer routinely consults neighbours by letter when an application is received