Children’s magazine Shine re-launches online

The much loved children’s magazine Shine, has re-launched to ensure locals to York are kept up to date with the latest clubs, events and sports happening across the city of York.

After some time away the magazine has now re-launched online and serves as a one-stop website for all you need to know about local activities for children and young people .Aimed at those aged between 5 and 18 years old, this resource has launched just in time to prepare your diaries for the 6 week holidays.

Browse the online calendars for Sports, Play, Parks, Arts and Library activities and events across the York area. You can also read the Shine Blog to find out a little bit more about courses, holiday camps and clubs to get involved in.

Organisers and leaders of children’s groups can register as a Shine user and have activities listed in the magazine’s calendar. The full magazine can be downloaded online.

Some of the exciting highlights happening this summer include:

West Bank Park Summer Fair 2018:

Free entry and on-site parking available at this year’s Summer Fair at West Bank Park from 1-4pm on June 24th.

‘Play In A Week’ – York Theatre Royal:

Join a fast-paced rehearsal week at York Theatre Royal. This year ages 8-14 years old can partake in the performance of the Jungle Book. Places cost £95 and are open to ages 8-14 years old. The course runs from August 13th to August 17th. For those aged 5-8years old, The Dream Play rehearsal week is taking place August 20th to August 24th.

‘Squash Camps 2018’ – Queen Margaret’s School:

Take part in a 3 day course to learn and develop you squash skills. The course runs between 9am-12pm a day for 3 days. Courses cost £45 per person. Course dates are July 17th-19th and July 31st– August 2nd.

Visit www.yor-ok.org.uk/shine for more details. And you can find the Shine blog at www.shineyork.wordpress.com 

What’s on in York: Martyn Waites- The Old Religion

Jun _10Martin Waite

York Explore Library :

Wed 20 Jun :

6.30pm – 7.30pm :

£5

Join Martyn Waites as he launches his new thriller the Old Religion.

The Cornish village of St Petroc is the sort of place where people come to hide. Tom Killgannon is one such person. An ex-undercover cop, Tom is in the Witness Protection Programme hiding from some very violent people, and St Petroc’s offers him a chance to live a safe and quiet life. Until he meets Lila.

A dark, twisted, fast-paced page-turner, The Old Religion is a contemporary British rural crime thriller that combines deft plotting and evocative landscapes with richness of character.

‘Waites is one of the very best crime writers we have, simple as that. I’ve been looking forward to this book for a long time and, boy, it was worth waiting for. I don’t know if I devoured IT or IT devoured ME…’ – Mark Billingham

‘One of the brightest stars in the British crime writing firmament’ – John Connolly

For fans of Peter May and Ann Cleeves comes a new thriller featuring ex-undercover police officer Tom Killgannon. Welcome to the dark heart of Cornwall . . .

He was running from his past.

She was running from her future.

Sometimes helping a stranger is the last thing you should do . . .

Martyn Waites was born in Newcastle Upon Tyne. He trained at the Birmingham School of Speech and Drama and worked as an actor for many years before becoming a writer. His novels include the critically acclaimed Joe Donovan series, set in the north-east of England, and The White Room which was a Guardian book of the year. In 2013 he was chosen to write Angel of Death, the official sequel to Susan Hill’s Woman in Black and in 2014 won the Grand Prix du Roman Noir for Born Under Punches. Martyn wrote the bestselling ‘Brennan and Esposito’ series under the pseudonym Tania Carver. To date, the series has sold over 190,000 copies. The first book in the series, The Surrogate, was nominated for the Theakstons Crime Novel of the Year Award.

To book tickets please click here.

‘The Lily and the Rose”, introduced by author Nick Morrice

Jun _14 Nick Morrice

York Explore Library :

Thu 14 Jun :

6.30pm – 7.30pm :

Free

York-based author Nick Morrice speaks about and reads from his autobiographical novel which is based on four key periods in his life. The book is dedicated to the contemporary composer Bob Chilcott whose musical setting of the medieval lyric poem, ”The Lily and the Rose”, led the author to discover surprising parallels between his own life and the medieval legends of ‘The Quest for the Holy Grail’ and ‘Sir Gawain and the Green Knight’.

This is an illustrated talk with an opportunity for questions afterwards. Signed copies will be available at £10.00.

This event will take place in the Marriott Room, at York Explore Library
(more…)

Unique “Northern Lights” exhibition at York Minster this weekend.

See York Minster in a new light when the cathedral opens its doors after hours for Northern Lights, a new light projection and sound installation which will transform the Minster’s Nave.

Saturday and Sunday 16th & 17th June

8:00pm

Click to book ticket

Artists from double Guinness World Record winning company The Projection Studio have designed the piece, taking inspiration from the Minster’s stained glass and architecture.

Visitors will have the chance to experience the Minster at dusk, with its cavernous Nave completely cleared of chairs and filled with music from the cathedral’s organ, before the light and sound installation is shown at 9.30pm.

Projection artist Ross Ashton and sound artist Karen Monid have designed the piece to be an immersive experience, using the roof of the Nave and Great West Window – which features the famous Heart of Yorkshire – as a backdrop for the breath-taking light projection. Visitors will be surrounded by music and sound effects as part of the experience, including music recorded by the York Minster Choir.

The events have been organised to raise awareness and funds for a new conservation campaign to extend state-of-the-art protective glazing to all 128 of the cathedral’s mostly medieval windows over the next 20 years. Learn more about the project here.

Doors open at 8:00pm with last admission at 9:00pm. The Northern Lights installation will show from 9.30pm with the event finishing at approximately 10pm.

If you are unable to attend there is an opportunity to bid “on line” in a silent auction for some amazing prizes. All proceeds are going to the Minster conservation project

Click here for details

What’s on in York: Six Impossible Things Before Breakfast

Six Impossible Things

Fairfax House :

Thu 14 Jun :

7.00pm – 8.30pm :

£14.00 (Members £12.00) Includes refreshments

Ben Russell, Curator of Mechanical Engineering at the Science Museum, considers the ‘Impossible’ in the Age of Reason … unimaginable new technologies, mind-blowing scientific discoveries and revolutionary new ideas. Challenging everything that had gone before, these advancements brought into sharp focus the tensions between imagination and wonder, rationality and reason. In doing so, they provoked controversy, and pushed the boundaries of what Georgian Britain was prepared to believe in.

For more information please check out this web site

What’s on in York: Explore a Story

Jun _14 Explore A Story The Gruffalo

York Explore Library :

Thu 14 Jun :

2.00pm – 3.00pm :

£2

‘Explore a Story’ is an interactive storytelling session for 2-5 year olds. The session uses props and games to get the children involved in bringing the stories to life. The sessions give children the opportunity to use and develop their imaginations within the storytelling, and helps to develop their creative skills beyond the sessions also.

This interactive style of storytelling shows the children different ways to read a story and opens up and re-imagines how the stories are put together.

Come with us through the swishy swashy grass on a bear hunt, with teddy to the moon, or on a perilous quest to find some secret treasure. They are encouraged to bring their own ideas and build them into the session on a journey through the imagination.

Tickets £2 per child. For children aged 2 – 5 years old.

Available to pre book by coming into any York library or by telephone on (01904) 552828.